top of page

Application Deadline: June 3, 2024
See all 2023 award winners and learn more about awards on our Awards Padlet.

CATESOL Interest Group Award:
Ron Lee
Technology Award

This $1,000 award will go to the ESL instructor who has integrated technology in innovative ways to support ESL teaching.

CATESOL Level Award: Community College
Student Essay Award

This award honors an ESL student in a credit or non-credit program in community college. The essay winner will receive $200 worth of books from Townsend Press.

CATESOL Level Award:
English Language Research Award

Intended to encourage a range of scholarly work not often represented in traditional publications, this award highlights exceptional work being done in the field of ESL/TESL:
classroom-based research; curricular projects; and other research regarding theory, research, pedagogy, and/or educational policy. 

CATESOL Level Award:
Community College Professional Development Award

This $500 award honors an outstanding Community College ESL instructor who is nominated by a peer instructor for successfully providing opportunities for empowering students in the classroom


CATESOL Education Foundation Memorial Award:
Gordon Johnson
Membership Award

Two part-time teachers currently teaching ESL in California will receive a one-year membership to CATESOL to encourage their ongoing interest in professional development.

CATESOL Education Foundation Memorial Award

Kareen Kjelstrup

Professional Development Award

A current member working at the adult level can nominate a non-member colleague in order to further the pair's professional development goals and to share conference highlights with their program. Both awardees receive a free one-year membership and registration to the annual CATESOL conference. 

CATESOL Education Foundation Memorial Award:
Rick Sullivan
Registration Award

2024 Information coming soon!

Deadline TBD.

This CATESOL Education Foundation award covers annual conference registration costs for CATESOL members currently in graduate school who have made a contribution to the organization.

Special Thanks to Our Awards Sponsor

CATESOL Education Foundation

We are currently accepting additional memorial awards to honor members of CATESOL and their contributions to the field.

bottom of page